HSAMatch

How HSAMatch compares

Every app in this table helps you keep receipts so you can reimburse yourself from an HSA years later. They differ in how much of the proof they build for you. Features and prices are as each company publishes them, checked on September 21, 2026; where a page does not say, the cell says so.

What the others do wellMost of these apps do one thing well: keep receipts safe and add them up. Several have native iPhone and Android apps, which HSAMatch does not have yet. Lively and Fidelity build a receipt vault into the HSA itself. HSAMatch is the only one in this table that states it reads the insurer's own statement, pairs it with the bank payment that settled it, and prints the three proofs together; if another product does that too, we could not find it on their pages and will gladly correct the row.
What it doesHSAMatchweb app, works on a phoneHSA Trackerhsatracker.org, web, iPhone, AndroidHSA Vaulthsavault.app, web (installable)HSA Vault Prohsavault.io, web (a different company)Shoeboxshoebox.io, web and a Chrome extensionTripltriplapp.com, web and iPhoneReimbursablereimbursable.com, webLively, Fidelitythe vault built into the HSA itselfA spreadsheetwhat most people actually use
What you owed: the insurer's side
Stores receipts and documents✓✓✓✓✓✓✓✓ Lively: up to four images per expense. Fidelity: in the Fidelity Health app.a folder you keep yourself
Reads a receipt automaticallyprovider, date, amount✓✓✓ 25 scans a year free, unlimited on Pro✓✓✓✓ PremiumLively files claims from a receipt photo✕
Reads an EOB as a claimbilled, allowed, plan paid, what you owed✓not statednot statednot statednot statednot statedan "EOB Parser" is listed; the page behind it is a loginnot stated✕
Imports the insurer's whole claims listCSV or PDF from the member portal✓CSV import of expensesnot statednot statednot statednot statednot statednot statedby hand
Claims arrive from the insurer on their ownpatient-authorized API, where the plan supports it✓ through Flexpa, plans that offer itnot statednot statednot statednot statednot statednot statednot stated✕
Reads a whole stack of scanned mailone PDF, sorted into documents, bills paired with EOBs✓not statednot statednot statednot statednot statednot statednot stated✕
What you paid: the bank's side
Bank or card link, read-only✓ Plaid, about two years back, then ongoingnot statednot statedHSA custodian import, not a banknot statednot stated✓ Plaid, on Premium; flags medical transactionsLively Expense Scout scans linked accounts, web onlywith Tiller, $99 a year
Statement import, any yearCSV or OFX from the bank✓not statednot statednot statednot statednot statednot statednot statedby hand
Pairs each claim with the payment that settled itautomatically, with a reason; you confirm✓ an engine that refuses rather than guesses, plus AI suggestions with a confidencenot statednot statednot statednot statednot statedflags medical charges; pairing with EOBs not statednot stated✕
Payment plans, prompt-pay discounts, plans that pay you back✓not statednot statednot statednot statednot statednot statednot stated✕
The proof you keep
Audit packet per expenseEOB proof, payment proof and tax-year proof together✓ cites IRC §223, Notice 2004-50 and Rev. Proc. 97-22; payloads fingerprintedannual tax report (paid) and a reimbursement audit trailaudit reconstruction; report export on Proautomated Form 8889tax filing documentsaudit-ready PDF with ledger and receipt imagesForm 8889 bundle, $10 a year or Premiumnot stated✕
Tax-year attestationrecords that the expense was never deducted on Schedule A✓not statednot statednot statednot statednot statednot statednot stated✕
Reimburse later, in any amounta running ledger of what is still withdrawable✓✓✓not stated✓✓ lump sums land on the oldest receipts firstnot stated✓ Lively Reimburse Laterby hand
Household memberswho each expense belongs to✓ one person per name, however documents spell it✓ Family plan, six peoplenot statednot stated✓a linked spouse inboxnot statednot stateda column
Medical mileage and premiumsMedicare, COBRA, at the IRS rate✓not statednot statednot statednot statednot statednot statednot statedby hand
HSA balance, holdings and contributions✓ custodian link or by hand; limits per yearcontribution limitsnot statedcustodian import, contribution trackingnot statedgrowth projectionsnot stated✓ it is the account✕
Trust
Encryption at rest✓ AES-256-GCM per document; a hash-chained event log✓ encrypted storage with Cloudflare✓ AES-256 at rest, TLS 1.3 (stated as badges)✓ AES-256 (in the app's code strings)not stated✓ AES-256 at rest, TLSnot stated✓ Lively: AES-256whatever your drive does
Two-factor sign-in✓✓not statednot statednot statednot statednot stated✓ Livelyyour drive's
Export everything, freeevery document byte for byte, plus the data✓ one zip, on every plan, foreverreceipt zip and CSV; the free tier stops at 30 expenseszip and CSV; audit reports on ProCSV✓ full library export✓ CSV and receipt zipCSV inside the paid tax bundledownload receipts one or several at a time✓
Native phone app✕ not yet; the web app works on a phone✓ iPhone and Androidinstallable web appnot statednot stated✓ iPhonenot stated✓ iPhone and Androidyour spreadsheet app
Since2026, in preview2026; iPhone app since August 2026founded 202420242025; last changelog entry November 20252026; iPhone app since April 20262025established custodiansforever

What each one costs

HSAMatchFree while in previewNo card. Paid tiers will come; every export stays free on every plan, forever.
HSA TrackerFree, then $7 to $27 a yearFree: one person, 30 expenses, 25 MB of receipts. Solo $7, Family $17, Unlimited $27 per year, billed annually. The annual tax report is paid-only. A blog post shows higher prices; the pricing page and the App Store agree on these.pricing page
HSA VaultFree, then $19 a yearFree: unlimited uploads and manual entry, 25 AI scans a year. Pro $19 a year: unlimited AI extraction, audit report export. No card to start.pricing page
HSA Vault Pro$99 a year30-day free trial, then $99 a year through Stripe. The site is a script shell; the operator is not named.pricing page
Shoebox$120 a yearShoebox Plus $120 a year; $60 a year with an early-adopter code while spots last. 30-day trial. Purchases are non-refundable.pricing page
TriplFree, then $50 a yearFree: 5 receipts with AI parsing. Unlimited $50 a year; the first 100 subscribers lock in $30. Receipt images are sent to Anthropic for reading, which can be turned off.pricing page
ReimbursableFree, then $5 a month or $50 a yearFree: unlimited manual tracking. Premium adds AI scanning, Plaid bank connections, email forwarding and the yearly Form 8889 bundle. A tax bundle alone is $10 per tax year.pricing page
Lively, FidelityIncluded with the accountLively: $0 monthly fees. Fidelity: zero account fees. Both require holding your HSA there; investment fees are the account's own.pricing page
A spreadsheetFreeA folder of PDFs and a sheet of dates and amounts. Tiller's bank-fed template costs $99 a year.pricing page

Prices as shown on each pricing page on September 21, 2026. They change; the links go to the source.

Why the difference matters

A receipt is half the proofWhen the IRS asks about a tax-free withdrawal, three things settle it: what the insurer said you owed, the bank record showing you paid it from your own money, and that you never deducted it elsewhere. A receipt vault keeps the first, sometimes. HSAMatch keeps all three, paired, for every expense.
Nothing pairs itselfThe matching engine refuses rather than guesses. When amounts, dates and names agree it proposes a pairing with its reasons; when they do not, the AI can suggest one with a stated confidence, and the server re-checks the arithmetic before you see it. You confirm every pairing, and a rule you set once, such as a dentist's prompt-pay discount or a monthly orthodontic plan, applies from then on.
Years later, it still readsThe audit packet is written for someone who was not there: the claim, the payment, the retrieval trail, the attestation, in the language of IRC §223, Notice 2004-50 and Rev. Proc. 97-22. Everything exports as one zip, byte for byte, on every plan.
Where the others are ahead todayHSA Tracker, Tripl, Lively and Fidelity have native phone apps; HSAMatch is a web app that works on a phone. Shoebox connects to Amazon. Lively and Fidelity live inside the account itself. Several of these cost $7 to $50 a year with settled pricing; HSAMatch is free during the preview and its paid tiers are not set.
See it on your own data, free

Free while in preview. Every export, on every plan, forever. Not tax advice.

Sources

See a mistake in another product's row? Write to [email protected] and it will be corrected.